#5 Department of Coffee and Social Affairs, St Martin’s Courtyard

 

This café is best for short work sessions and meetings.

What I like about it:

  • Friendly baristas. Their barista (who’s name I have yet to get) was very happy to tell me about their coffee, brewing method and even let me try another filter they were preparing.
  • Natural light. Lots of natural light in this one.

Key features:

  • Coffee rating (1 = really bad, 5 = really good): 5
  • Wifi: Available but only for 45 minutes
  • Power sockets: Only a couple towards the front of the café
  • Music volume: Just right.
  • Nearest tube: Covent Garden
  • Location: St Martin’s Courtyard, St. Martins Courtyard, 19 Slingsby Pl, London WC2E 9AB 
Other features:
  • Seating type: High wood and steel tables and chairs with regular, garden-like tables and chairs at the back.

A good place for short work sessions, it is often frequented by a combination of working people and tourists.

I gave a coffee rating of 5 purely based on their filter coffees because that is all I have had at the place. I had a Burundi filter the last time I was there and it was excellent – it was made on batch brew rather than V60 but all the tasting notes came out excellent.

The downside, their cakes could be better. I personally find them a bit dry.

Leave a Reply

